UVU PRSSA Named Most Outstanding Chapter in the Nation

 PRSSA 2016 National Conference Awards UVU with Teahan Award

Orem, Utah, October 26, 2016 – The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) awarded the Utah Valley University chapter with the Most Outstanding Chapter award, an honor presented annually to only one of 300 PRSSA chapters through the Teahan Awards. The Teahan Award was presented at the PRSSA National Conference in Indianapolis, Indiana on Monday October 24, 2016 to the UVU chapter members.

For more information on the Teahan Awards: http://prssa.prsa.org/scholarships_competitions

“I am beyond honored to be involved in an organization so deserving of this award,” said Utah Valley University’s Chapter President, Brittnee Bromley-Neurhing. “Last year's board, along with this year's Executive Board members, are some of the most inspiring, dedicated and knowledgeable individuals I have ever known. I'm grateful to associate myself with them through PRSSA and look forward to another successful year.”

The Teahan Awards recognize certain PRSSA chapters for the accomplishments in 12 various categories: chapter development, diversity, student-run firm, newsletter, website, regional conference, community service, university service, PRSA/PRSSA relationship, faculty adviser and professional adviser. In receiving the Most Outstanding Chapter Teahan Award, Utah Valley University displayed:

-       Continued effort of new ideas throughout the academic year

-       Successful fundraisers with the school and community

-       Alumni contact

-       PRSA Associate Membership promotions

-       A well-established student-run firm

-       Strong and active leadership on a national level

“It was such an incredible experience to be able to win the Most Outstanding Chapter award at the PRSSA National Conference this year,” said Taylor Lundell, vice president of public relations, UVU PRSSA. “It gives this year’s executive board the motivation and confidence in keeping the Utah Valley legacy in PRSSA. We want to make this a precedence for years to come, just like last year’s board did.”

This year’s Outstanding Chapter Award marks UVU PRSSA’s fifth Dr. F.H. Teahan Chapter Award since it’s official charter in 2009. UVU’s Chapter has been awarded the Faculty Adviser of the Year in 2012, Outstanding Chapter in 2013, Chapter Website of the Year and University Service Award in 2014. The Teahan Awards celebrate Dr. F.H. Chris Teahan, a founder of the PRSSA in 1968, for outstanding performance attributed to the Society since the national conference in 2004.

UVU PRSSA Resources:

Website: http://www.uvuprssa.org

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/uvuprssa/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/prssa.uvu

Twitter: https://twitter.com/uvuprssa



UVU’s chapter of PRSSA was established in October of 2009. In a short seven years, their chapter has more than 140 active students within our university and has received local, state and national recognition. In 2013 and 2016, they had received the National Outstanding Chapter award. In addition to holding monthly professional development activities and programs, UVU PRSSA has received four Golden Spike Awards, including Best of Show and Utah’s Top PR Industry award. UVU’s chapter of PRSSA is integrated within UVU and its surrounding communities through service projects and professional development excursions.

Contact Information:

Taylor Lundell

Vice President of Public Relations | UVU PRSSA